Yak Colors-Types-Breeds


Yaks, (Bos grunniens), a member of the bovine family, are divided into the following categories:

1. Imperial Yaks: black with a black nose.

2. Native Tibetan Yaks: black with a gray nose.

3. Trim Yaks: black with white trim usually on the forehead, feet and tip of tail.

4. Royal Yaks: black and white piebald

5. Golden Yaks: dun coloring over black

6. Woolly Yaks: longer and thicker hair coat

Copyright 1995- 2012 International Yak Association | Privacy and Terms of Use | Website by the Yak Ranch